Forums

The Gravity Bong :: Forums :: Community :: Tech Forum
Game starts stuttering << Previous thread | Next thread >>
Go to page  [1] 2
Moderators: Helix, silent, DrakeMegrim, Skyhawk, khamir-ubitch, Dickbut, holyass, GravyTrain, Blast_Tyrant, SoraPiroB, cosmic_marbles, Wolfwarrior27
Author Post
bldwilco
Mon Jun 09 2014, 12:39AM


Steam Alias: bldwilco
Class: Medic
Posts: 91
Liked 4 times in 3 posts

Lately (past few days), when I start playing TF2 around 10-15 minutes in the game starts stuttering. I've tried other games and everything works fine. My connection is stable and background apps are running at a minimum. Anyone run into this lately?

My PC specs: i7 @ 3.5 GHz
32 GB
GTX 780M








Back to top
khamir-ubitch
Mon Jun 09 2014, 06:07AM



Steam Alias: [BonG] Dr. KhAmiR M.D.
Class: Medic
Posts: 3989
Liked 253 times in 114 posts

Do you run any custom skins, sounds, huds, etc?

I found I was having the same issue. When I found it was localized to TF2, I got rid of all the custom stuff and it stopped stuttering.

What is your frame rate usually and what is it now? (While playing type cl_showfps 1)







Back to top
bldwilco
Mon Jun 09 2014, 11:53AM


Steam Alias: bldwilco
Class: Medic
Posts: 91
Liked 4 times in 3 posts

Usual FPS=85
After ~10 minutes FPS=35-45







Back to top
khamir-ubitch
Mon Jun 09 2014, 12:07PM



Steam Alias: [BonG] Dr. KhAmiR M.D.
Class: Medic
Posts: 3989
Liked 253 times in 114 posts

Odd.

Update your driver
Make sure you have a decent driver for your video card. Sometimes Microsoft will try and update it using ITS OWN driver. (not often, but I've seen it happen)

Customization:
If you haven't already, disable/get rid of any custom stuff you have (mostly huds, scripts, etc...). See if this makes a difference. Custom stuff will live here (By default): C:\Program Files\Steam\steamapps\common\Team Fortress 2\tf\custom The easiest way, just rename the "custom folder" to CUSTOMII and create a new one called custom with nothing in it.

Check your GPU:
Ensure that it doesn't overheat and start to shit on itself. Make sure the video card's fan is free and clear. I'm doubtful this is it as you say other games work fine.

See if one of those doesn't' help you out. Not much to go on as far as background or details.







Back to top
bldwilco
Mon Jun 09 2014, 12:56PM


Steam Alias: bldwilco
Class: Medic
Posts: 91
Liked 4 times in 3 posts

Went through customs and cleaned it out. Also, Microsoft did try to update using its own driver. Tried it again and after 30 minutes it worked just fine. Averaging 95 FPS.

Thanks for the help!







Back to top
thievishmetal
Mon Jun 09 2014, 03:08PM


Steam Alias: somethin', somethin' Bastard
Class: Heavy
Posts: 230
Liked 0 times in 0 posts

A 780 and 32gbs of ram in a laptop.

You cray.







Back to top
bldwilco
Mon Jun 09 2014, 03:21PM


Steam Alias: bldwilco
Class: Medic
Posts: 91
Liked 4 times in 3 posts

Yeah, I know. But, I travel all the time so it just made more sense to have something that is easier to take with me.







Back to top
BiGTeX
Mon Jun 09 2014, 05:24PM


Steam Alias: bigtex1313
Class: Scout
Posts: 249
Liked 0 times in 0 posts

I had the same exact problem. Completely uninstalled the game, reinstalled and was good.







Back to top
AntiHick
Mon Jun 09 2014, 06:42PM


Steam Alias: TheAntiHick
Class: Soldier
Posts: 3602
Liked 3 times in 1 posts

You have a 780 and only get 85-95 fps?

What kind of shit CPU is bottlenecking you? I'm running a 560ti with everything completely maxed out and I stay around 200-300







Back to top
mrnarhwal
Tue Jun 10 2014, 05:45PM


Steam Alias: Mr. Narwhal
Class: Demoman
Posts: 111
Liked 0 times in 0 posts

A lot of people seem to be having the same problem







Back to top
Go to page  [1] 2  

Jump:     Back to top


Syndicate this thread: rss 0.92 Syndicate this thread: rss 2.0 Syndicate this thread: RDF
The Gravity Bong Community Forums
Render time: 0.0881 sec, 0.0185 of that for queries. DB queries: 70. Memory Usage: 2,633kB